Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

2018-08-31T05:34:23+02:00

Activities for kids in the car

Posted by Katya Buryak

We Are planning a lengthy drive this week. We are hitting the road before sunup and pushing until way past bedtime. As a survival plan I have prepared a giant collection of road excursion activities for children. In Just a short while our family will be taking a road trip. A Road trip. As In, begin driving at 3 AM and reach our destination after 10 PM. With five children ages 7 and under. And We don't have a DVD player in our van. This May seem a little mad, but seriously? Putting all seven of us at a hotel room having a baby still waking up every two hours sounds a great deal crazier. So I have been operating at a creating and collecting a variety of actions to maintain my team occupied for our big adventure.

Shade by Number Addition Pages

My Seven asked for color by number pages. I wanted to create something which would challenge her and give her something she enjoys, so I set addition facts on those fairy tale characters. You can get the listing of ten free webpages by visiting this particular post.

Books on CD

Our Number one activity on long car rides is reading. Thankfully, my Seven and Five may read by themselves. However, my Four specifically does not have patience for long trips, and he's not prepared to read independently. I'll read aloud periodically, but it is not something I wish to do for ten hours! That is where books on CD come in. I borrow them from the library, store them in my CD holder, and reserve multiple copies of every book so all those big kids can follow alongwith I Also referred to my Best Picture Books for Kids Pinterest board and found a huge stack of new-to-us publications to take along. (The hard part was keeping my kids from reading them before the big trip!

Lap Boards

Have seen some remarkable DIY lapboards on Pinterest. However, I do not sew beyond buttons. I don't do well with wood, foam, or stretching fabric. I don't even cut a straight line. So this is my version of a DIY lap board. Locate A cheap magnetic skillet (tip -- they're not all magnetic; assess first). This 9 x 13 tray price 99 cents. Then get some markers or crayons and hot glue magnet bits on them (even adhesive strips can use that extra glue). Anything To keep my toddler from dropping a marker every five seconds. The Sketchpad was out of the dollar bin.

Conversation Cards

These Are 100 conversation starters in the kind of "would you rather" questions. I adore these! Would you rather have a pet chicken or a pet elephant? Would you rather lounge in a pool of marshmallows or M & M's? Learn more and get your free printable cards (or even simply a list of queries) in this post.

See comments

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
comments

Girl Gift Template by Ipietoon - Hosted by Overblog